Elite Program

This reward program is the highest honor a USA Softball umpire can obtain other than selection to the National Softball Hall of Fame. The program was launched in 2003, with 153 umpires approved in February of that year.  There are currently 360 qualified umpires that have been selected for the "Elite" program.  Members who are approved as "Elite" umpires can apply for their international certification (WBSC), and are the only umpires selected for the National Championship Series (SP) and the Armed Forces Slow Pitch Championships.  In future years, it is anticipated that "Elite" umpires will be selected for major Fast and Modified Pitch Championships.

To become eligible for this program, an umpire must have been a USA Softball registered umpire for at least seven (7) years and a current member in good standing.  The umpire must have participated in at least four (4) national championships, and umpired in two (2) in the same category of play and from the championships listed below: 

FAST PITCH: Men's Major, Women's Major, Men's Master 40-Over, Girls 18-U Gold, Men's "A" or Women's "A", Men's Open and USA Softball JO Cup National Invitational Tournament (NIT).  Effective 2016: the Men's Open is a qualifying Championship provided the other Championship is a Men's Major, 18-Under GOLD or USA Softball JO Cup. 

SLOW PITCH: Men’s Super, Men’s Major, Women’s Open, Men’s A, Men’s B, Men’s C, COED Major, Men’s Masters 35-Over. Effective 2015: Men's C is a qualifying Championship provided the other qualifying championship is a Men's Super, Men’s A or Men’s B.

MODIFIED PITCH: Men's 9 Man Major, Men's A or Women's 9-Player, or Men's 10-Player. 

The USA Softball "Elite" umpire application fee is $40.00 and is non-refundable.  The umpire will receive a lapel pin, a navy USA Softball "Elite" cap, membership card, framed certificate, and name listed in the National Softball Hall of Fame.  Three passport size photos should be attached to the application.  Deadline each year is September 15.  Applications will be reviewed at the November Council Meeting and applicants will be notified shortly thereafter.

Print an Elite Program Application Form.


Current Members

Name Hometown Category
Rick Allen Grovertown, IN Fast Pitch
Ed Bellows Elkhart, IN Slow Pitch
David Bogard Beech Grove, IN Fast Pitch
Steve Chamness Elkhart, IN Fast Pitch
 David Chandler Middletown, IN Fast Pitch
 Matt Davis Brownsburg, IN Fast Pitch
Paul DeRenzo Winona Lake, IN Fast Pitch
Tony Greer Indianapolis, IN Fast Pitch
Anne Griffith Goshen, IN Fast Pitch
Roger Griffith Goshen, IN Slow Pitch
Julie Ann Johnson Alexandria, IN Fast Pitch
 Mike LaGrave Indianapolis, IN Slow Pitch    
 Andy Trent            Kokomo, IN  Fast Pitch
 Brett Williamson Clear Creek,IN Slow Pitch
 Greg Carrie Vincennes, IN Slow Pitch

 Bob Cash             Crawfordsville, IN Slow Pitch